Transforming libraries into digital culture hubs, the theme of the symposium “Slove Muscelene”, 15th edition


Article published on

The Academy of Romanian Scientists (AOSR), through the Institute for Advanced Interdisciplinary Research “Constantin Angelescu” (ICAI), organized the 15th edition of the symposium “Slove Muscelene” with the theme “Transforming libraries into hubs of digital culture”, on 13-14 July 2023, at Villa Golescu – Câmpulung Muscel, an event initiated and coordinated by prof. univ. dr. eng. Doina Banciu, Vice-President of AOSR.

“This year’s edition is an anniversary edition, and the theme is about the opportunity for libraries to benefit from NRP funds for digitisation. The overall objective is to become hubs of digital culture,” said Prof. Dr. Eng. Doina Banciu.

At the opening of the symposium, the President of the Academy of Scientists, Prof. Dr. Eng. Adrian Badea, pointed out that “This programme is important, as it seeks to upgrade over 1000 libraries. We talk about digitisation of public administration, but I wonder in Câmpulung or in the neighbouring municipalities, how much do they know how to use these methods, which would allow them to get in touch quickly, at home, with public and central authorities? And I think that here, the role of libraries and librarians is essential. I was born and grew up under the auspices of the Gutenberg galaxy, but now we have moved on to a new stage and we cannot do without using these colossal advantages offered by the internet and information technology.”

Continued on

Previous articlePHOTO-VIDEO “Slove Muscelene” Symposium 2023 – scholarship abroad for a young librarian and launch of 15th anniversary book
Next articleWorkshop “Best practices for PhD students, post-docs and young researchers”
Academia Oamenilor de Știință din România este continuatorul și unicul legatar al Academiei de Știinte din România (1935 – 1948) și al Asociației Oamenilor de Știință din România înființată prin HCM nr. 1012/30 mai 1956, care în 1996 și-a schimbat titulatura în Academia Oamenilor de Știință din România. În anul 2007 a fost adoptată Legea nr. 31-15 ianuarie 2007 privind reorganizarea și funcţionarea AOSR. Printre membrii de onoare ai ASR s-au numărat următorii laureați ai premiului Nobel (conform Buletinului nr 11 din 1943 al ASR): Louis de Broglie, Jean Perrin (fizicieni francezi), Max Born, Werner-Karl Heisenberg (fizicieni germani), Paul Sabatier (chimist francez), Hans Fischer , Friedrich Bergius (chimisti germani), Paul Karrer (chimist elveţian) şi George Emil Palade (medic român ), membru al AOSR. Conform evaluării instituționale Scimago/ ELSEVIER , bazată pe vizibilitatea științifică internațională a membrilor săi, AOSR ocupă locul 22/Romania și 775/lume în clasamentul instituțiilor de cercetare și învățământ superior.