Launch of the “Romania of Knowledge” project


The Romanian Academy of Scientists, the National University of Science and Technology POLITEHNICA Bucharest and the University of Medicine and Pharmacy “Carol Davila” Bucharest launch a national project “Romania of Knowledge” on 14 May 2024, 14.00, in the Aula of the Central University Library “Carol I”.

The project “Romania of Knowledge” is dedicated to the development of the country through education, science, research and technology, vectors of progress and evolution of the economy, society and civilization. The project aims to create a national framework for debate, a think-tank that brings together representative personalities in each field involved, from home and abroad, scientists, researchers, academics, experts and specialists, decision-makers and policy-makers, a synergy of creative and innovative minds. In this elite forum of ideas and solutions, subsumed under the objective of sustainable development, fundamental areas and themes for the process of sustainable development of Romania through knowledge will be addressed.

The thematic areas and coordinates on which the “Romania of Knowledge” project is structured are the following:

  1. Education; Research, Innovation;
  2. Communications, information technology and artificial intelligence;
  3. Efficient and sustainable development; Re-industrialisation;
  4. Efficient and organic farming;
  5. Health;
  6. Culture, civilisation, spirituality;
  7. Energy and mineral resources;
  8. Human resources; Social policies;
  9. Ecology, Environment, Climate change;
  10. Defence, public order and national security.

Each area within the Project structure will constitute a thematically focused panel and framework, coordinated by one or two leading scientific personalities, emblematic of the respective field. Each panel will organise “analysis and reflection groups” by sub-domain, which will meet periodically to carry out their work according to their own agenda, framed within the overall Project Programme. The working groups are open to specialists from all academies established by law, from prestigious universities, from the Romanian Parliament and other public institutions.

Debates, scientific meetings, symposia and conferences will take place within each panel and focus group, and the most valuable ideas, conclusions and solutions will be synthesized and disseminated through published materials or in volumes, which will also be distributed to decision-makers in central and local public administration institutions and the Romanian Parliament.

Previous articleRomanian Itinerant Seminar on Mathematics and Applications (SIRMA)
Next articleAOSR General Assembly
Academia Oamenilor de Știință din România este continuatorul și unicul legatar al Academiei de Știinte din România (1935 – 1948) și al Asociației Oamenilor de Știință din România înființată prin HCM nr. 1012/30 mai 1956, care în 1996 și-a schimbat titulatura în Academia Oamenilor de Știință din România. În anul 2007 a fost adoptată Legea nr. 31-15 ianuarie 2007 privind reorganizarea și funcţionarea AOSR. Printre membrii de onoare ai ASR s-au numărat următorii laureați ai premiului Nobel (conform Buletinului nr 11 din 1943 al ASR): Louis de Broglie, Jean Perrin (fizicieni francezi), Max Born, Werner-Karl Heisenberg (fizicieni germani), Paul Sabatier (chimist francez), Hans Fischer , Friedrich Bergius (chimisti germani), Paul Karrer (chimist elveţian) şi George Emil Palade (medic român ), membru al AOSR. Conform evaluării instituționale Scimago/ ELSEVIER , bazată pe vizibilitatea științifică internațională a membrilor săi, AOSR ocupă locul 22/Romania și 775/lume în clasamentul instituțiilor de cercetare și învățământ superior.